Warm Cocoa for Winter

 

cocoa banner

I am not a fan of drinking my calories, and I am currently in an 8 week I Quit Sugar plan with my wife. However, when I saw this buzzfeed post shared on my friend Amy’s Facebook Page, I knew it was my duty as a writer and as a foodie to share my findings. So for the good of you, my readers,  I went shopping and tried several of these recipes. In my next two posts I will be sharing my favorites!

If you know me, you know my household is mainly lactose and gluten free, so I had to pick “safe” ingredients for the hot cocoa.
In order to avoid lactose, I substituted Natural High Fat Cocoa powder from Penzeys when recipes called for premixed hot cocoa. I used Trader Joe’s Almond Milk in place of milk, and Coconut Cream in place of whipped cream.

Coconut Cream from Trader Joes
Coconut Cream from Trader Joes
Natural High Fat Cocoa from Penzeys
Natural High Fat Cocoa from Penzeys

Since I was still in the holiday spirit, I had to start with the Eggnog Mexican Hot Chocolate from Laurens Latest.

Silk Holiday  Mexican Hot Cocoa
Silk Holiday Mexican Hot Cocoa

Mexican Dairy-Free Holiday Nog

  • 2 cups Silk dairy-free Holiday Nog
  • 1/2 tablespoon of Cocoa powder (or 1 packet hot chocolate mix)
  • 1/8 teaspoon cinnamon
  • pinch nutmeg
  • mini marshmallows {optional}

DIRECTIONS:
In a large mug, heat eggnog in the microwave to be steaming hot (I heated mine in a pot on top of the stove). Stir in hot chocolate mix (or 1/2 tablespoon of Cocoa powder), cinnamon and nutmeg until dissolved. Top with marshmallows and serve.
*If you don’t want your drink as sweet, use half eggnog and unsweetened vanilla almond milk.

Dairy-Free Eggnog Mexican Hot Chocolate
Dairy-Free Eggnog Mexican Hot Chocolate

Since I miss eating the Trader Joe’s holiday gingerbread cookies, I tried this next creation the Gingerbread Hot Cocoa from The Hopeless Housewife.

Gingerbread Hot Cocoa

Gingerbread Hot Cocoa

  • 4 cups almond milk
  • ½ cup cocoa powder
  • ¼ cup brown sugar
  • ¼ cup raw sugar
  • ½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoon allspice
  • ½ teaspoon ground ginger
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ¼ teaspoon sea salt

whipped Coconut Cream for topping

DIRECTIONS:
In a medium saucepan over low heat, heat the almond milk. While warming the milk, combine the cocoa powder, brown sugar, sugar, cinnamon, allspice and ginger in a small bowl. Whisk in the almond milk until hot. Serve with whipped Coconut Cream and sprinkle with cinnamon.

Gingerbread Hot Cocoa
Gingerbread Hot Cocoa

Since I have cut pack on my processed and added sugar, I have found a passion for spicy flavors, so making an Aztec Hot Chocolate from a Beautiful Mess was a great recipe to add to the menu. I feel the key to this recipe is the combination of cinnamon and cayenne.

Aztec Hot Cocoa
Aztec Hot Cocoa

Aztec Hot Chocolate

  • 6 cups almond milk
  • 10 ounces chopped dark chocolate
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • a pinch or two of cayenne
  • mini marshmallows {optional}

In a pot combine the almond milk and chocolate. Melt the chocolate over low/medium heat, stirring constantly. Once melted and the mixture is warmed, thoroughly stir in the cinnamon and cayenne. Serve hot!

Aztec Hot Cocoa
I feel the key to this recipe is the combination of cinnamon and cayenne.

Want more? I know I did! I plan to share three more on my next post.
Talk soon!

COMING SOON:

SONY DSC

Leave a Reply

