Warm Cocoa for Winter

HotCocoaBanner2

 

After the last post I wanted to try something simple, yet tasty, so I went with a tweaked version of 2-Ingredient Nutella Hot Chocolate  by Gimme Some Oven.

SONY DSC

2-Ingredient Almond Hot Chocolate

  • 2 Tbsp. Trader Joe’s Cocoa Almond Spread
  • 1 cup almond milk

DIRECTIONS:
Heat milk in a small saucepan over medium-high heat until steaming (not boiling), stirring occasionally. Add in the Trader Joe’s Cocoa Almond Spread, and whisk until dissolved.
Serve immediately, either plain or with your desired toppings.

Since I am in the middle of our “I Quit Sugar 8 week plan“, I am jonesing for sugar on a daily basis, the cravings are especially strong in the middle of the afternoon, from 12-3. To help combat this monkey on my back, I have turn to teas, my favorite has become Chai. It is a complex flavor that tip toes on the edge of sweetness. That is what makes this recipe for Vegan Chai Hot Chocolate from Fit Foodie Finds so wonderful.

SONY DSC

Vegan Chai Hot Chocolate

  • 2 cups vanilla almond milk, unsweetened (you can sweetened)
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon DIY Chai Spice

DIRECTIONS:
Place all ingredients in a medium size sauce pan. Bring to a rolling boil and whisk until spices and cocoa powder have dissolved. Reduce heat and let simmer for 3-5 minutes.

With my new work schedule, we only get one day off a week together, and I wanted to make our day off special. I made this Black Cherry Bourbon Hot Chocolate from Living Better Together.

SONY DSC

Black Cherry Bourbon Hot Chocolate

  • 1½ cups almond milk
  • 5 tbsp tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 2 oz. Red Stag Black Cherry Bourbon by Jim Beam
  • coconut cream or marshmallows for topping

DIRECTIONS:
In a small saucepan, heat almond milk and cocoa powder over medium – high heat until it starts to steam (do not boil).
Whisk frequently.
Pour 1 oz. of black cherry bourbon into each cup.
Evenly divide hot chocolate between the two cups.
Top with whipped cream and chocolate shavings.

On my next post I will show you how I use the Ajies Dulces in a Puerto Rican favorite, Sofrito.
SONY DSC

 

 

Leave a Reply

